top of page
Search
Writer's pictureLisetty Sandoval

Penelope's Story: The Story

Updated: Mar 16, 2023

Why now? It all started with a song.



I was listening to an old Spanish song when I had a vision from God of what my next film was going to be about.


I didn't know much about sex trafficking at the time, so I had to get confirmation that God really wanted me to write about this. I'm glad I took the challenge because I was able to grow as a person by the doing the psychological research for my main protagonist.


That is when God revealed me that the topic wasn't just sex trafficking, but the journey someone takes to leave the past behind and be able to move on inspiring other people from your own messy experiences.


If God could heal my broken spirit, I was interested in seeing what else can be done in the lives of many more that walk wounded on this earth.



Making the decision to write the script


Once I made the decision to write my script, I went to Manitoulin Island on the summer of 2020 with my family and a big billboard that read "Buying sex is a crime" picked my interest and saw many like that around the main road.

In the Northern Ontario area in Canada is mainly forest and not many houses, maybe one police station in a small town. This interested me to dig further in the matter.


After doing the research, I learned that 4 out of 5 of the sex trafficked girls or women are indigenous starting as early of 12 years old and the many reasons why and how they get involved in this was just heartbroken to me.


My husband, who partnered up with me on this project is a First Nation Indigenous, I am a mother, a woman and child of God, that is why this matter became personal to me.

That is why my Penelope is Indigenous. I just want my film to be the instrument for a voice to be heard that often is not heard and misjudged.


Why now?

“I learned that 4 out of 5 of the sex trafficked girls or women are Indigenous starting as early of 12 years old and the many reasons why and how they get involved in this was just heartbroken to me.”

How are you able to move on after that?


I realized that regardless of the circumstances we have all felt at some point in our lives feeling of despair, loneliness, unforgiveness, being abused either physically or emotionally, and these are understandable feelings don't you think? Yeah, because we're humans.


The question is, how do I move on from the mess of the past?


So, that is why my story focuses on the re-birth of a victim of sex trafficking. This story teaches how to get let go of the past and be able to move on. This story shows how to get from being a “Victim” to the “Hero" of your own life.

Your past does not define you and I invite you to come with me and Penelope in her journey where she will learn to turn her Mess into Her Message.


Contact Info

Lisetty Sandoval

Phone: 1 (647) 336- 1144

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page